PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via telephone, or through video conferencing via Zoom or Electronic Sign up. Please call our office to discuss your options.

Distinctive. Trustworthy. Aggressive.
  1. Home
  2.  – 
  3. Criminal Law
  4.  – Understanding Florida’s marijuana laws

Understanding Florida’s marijuana laws

While the recreational use of cannabis, or marijuana, is legal in 23 states, it is important to keep in mind that Florida is not one of them. Its use and possession are only allowed for certain medical conditions with a medical use license from the state.

The state’s marijuana laws cover various aspects such as possession, sale/delivery, concentrates and paraphernalia. Penalties change depending on factors such as quantity and intent to distribute.

Penalties for possession

If an individual possesses a quantity of recreational cannabis that is 20 grams or less, the legal system categorizes this as a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor is a less serious crime that is punishable by shorter prison sentences in county jail, probation, part-time imprisonment while serving on a work release program or community service.

In this case, the individual could face a monetary penalty that could reach up to $1,000. The prison sentence for this crime could extend up to one year.

The penalties increase significantly for possession of more than 25 pounds. At this point, it is a first-degree felony. The mandatory minimum sentence increases to 3 years in prison, with a maximum sentence of 30 years and a fine of up to $250,000, with both increasing as the amount of marijuana increases.

More severe consequences for distribution

Without payment, delivering cannabis of 20 grams or less is a misdemeanor, leading to a maximum fine of $1,000 and potential imprisonment for up to 1 year. Conversely, if the cannabis weighs between 20 grams and 25 pounds, distributing it is a felony. The penalty for this can be as severe as a $5,000 fine and up to 5 years in prison. As with possession, selling larger amounts of the illegal substance increases the penalties.

Laws on hash and concentrates

Laws regarding the possession or sale of hashish or concentrates are also quite stringent. Hashish and concentrates are extractions of the most potent components of the cannabis plant, which are rich in tetrahydrocannabinol, the chemical responsible for most of marijuana’s psychological effects.

Florida has strict laws regarding marijuana possession and sale. It is important to be aware of these laws to avoid any legal trouble.