When a traffic stop in Florida winds up leading to a charge of driving under the influence, you have a lot to lose, should that charge end with a conviction. Even first-time drunk driving offenders in Florida face serious penalties, and some of these penalties might include hefty fines, jail sentences and a loss of your driver’s license, among others. You should also expect to have to pay significantly more for car insurance once you regain the right to drive again.
According to Insure.com, drivers across the United States see their annual insurance rates rise by somewhere between 28% and 371% after a drunk driving conviction.
How much of an increase Florida drivers see
The average Florida motorist watches his or her annual insurance expenses increase by 61% after a conviction for drinking and driving. Without a DUI, most Florida motorists pay around $2,250 to insure themselves behind the wheel. Yet, after a first-time drunk driving conviction, the average Florida driver ends up paying about $3,614 per year for coverage. This comes out to be an annual increase of $1,364.
How to find the lowest rate available to you
You may find that your current insurer may not want to insure you anymore after you have a drunk driving arrest in the past. Conversely, your insurer may decide to keep you as a customer but charge you considerably more. Make sure to check with a couple of different insurers to see which one extends you the most favorable annual premium.
How long a DUI conviction impacts your insurance rates may vary to some degree, but in Florida, you may face elevated insurance rates for up to 10 years after your DUI conviction.